Fender Squier J Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by loldrummer, Apr 30, 2012.

1. loldrummer

loldrummer

Jun 20, 2011
    Hello XD,
    I'm a beginner bassist, I've been posting here not much because I've been busy and stuff XD.
    I've bought my first bass like almost 4 and a half months ago I think, And It's a Fender Squier J Bass.. Now I wanted to ask you, Is Fender Squier J bass a really good bass? As in, Can I use it for a long time? Because this may sound weird, But I don't like changing Equipment.. It's really hard to explain XD. I Really like the Fender Squier J bass.
    But to you as experts of the bass, Is it a good bass? Or It's just a good beginner bass?
    And would you gig with it and play with it a lot?

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it. And Please excuse my unworthy English XD.

2. loldrummer

loldrummer

Jun 20, 2011
    Bumpty bumpy bump.
    Hope it's okay to bump cause I really need help XD

3. There's ALOT of Squier fans here. My suggestion (since you're a beginner bassist) is to play the hell out of it, and learn as much as you can about playing and setting it up.

As you progress as a new player, you'll have a better idea of what to look for in your next instrument.

For now, enjoy the one you have and learn as much as you can about it, and how it works.

4. Of course it's a good bass. It's not the most expensive - but that's not a true criteria anyway.

If the neck doesn't fall off and you like the way it feels - then you should get years out of it unless you use it as a weapon in a bar fight.

Learn to do a real setup - string height, intonation, neck angles and p'up height, etc., and you'll be miles/sillymeters happier.

5. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    Ok well, I have a Sadowsky bass that would cost me close to $5k to replace.

I have an old Tobias Classic 5 that carried a new retail price of close to $6k

I also have a Squier Active Deluxe Jazz 5 that I got new for...$260.