1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fenderbird

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Big_Daddy, Dec 15, 2010.

1. Big_Daddy

Big_Daddy

Nov 24, 2010
    Central Alberta
    Well, I'd like to put together a Fenderbird for myself, so I'm going to start keeping a lookout for stuff I might need.

I'm new to the concept of Fenderbirds (...and assembling basses in general, actually). Is it really as simple as buying a Fender neck (aftermarket or all parts) and attaching it to a Gibson/Epiphone body?

I'd imagine the neck would be a bit wide, so would it require I take a bit off the sides (if that's even possible?)

I know it's a lot of answers to ask, but any help is appreciated.

2. standupbassman

standupbassman

Jul 7, 2009
    you wouldn't want to take some off the sides (there's at least 50x as much work involved). Just route the neck cavity a little bit and it should be fine.

3. Warmoth offers a Thunderbird body, why not go that way?

4. Big_Daddy

Big_Daddy

Nov 24, 2010
    Central Alberta
    Probably shoulda figured that I should stay away from fiddling with the neck.

5. Big_Daddy

Big_Daddy

Nov 24, 2010
    Central Alberta
    I'm cheap, and I don't mind waiting for the right opprotunity.
    :)

6. A-Step-Towards

A-Step-Towards Supporting Member

Nov 16, 2009
    Los Angeles California
    There was a warmoth one on ebay a bit ago, For a cheap job , buy a local epiphone t bird for cheap , find a neck on here or mightymite P bass neck. There is routing involved and all would depend on what route (no pun intended) you take.

But there will be blood, i mean routing.

7. Lazarus.Bird

Lazarus.Bird Mr. Personality

Aug 16, 2010
    Pittsburgh