1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

First Build - Cigar Box Bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by ffutterman, Aug 23, 2012.

1. ffutterman

ffutterman Talentless Bass Enthusiast

May 7, 2010
    Philadelphia
    I now present my Cigar Box Bass. It's made from Ashbory and ukulele parts, and I've been cobbling it together for several months (maybe even a year...I don't remember).

The thread is mostly for entertainment purposes. I've got NO idea what I'm doing, and don't really expect this to be a quality instrument when it's done. I mean, I did some Googling and YouTubing for it, but saying I'm inexperienced would be an understatement. The holes I had to drill for this are literally the first I've ever drilled.

In any case, here are the pictures:

01-Parts.
    Initial set of parts

02-Workspace.
    Additional parts and supplies as I did more research on what I would need.

03-Box.
    The box I bought at a local cigar shop.

2. ffutterman

May 7, 2010
    Philadelphia
    04-Sandedandfilledneck.
    Initially, I was going to just forgo a fretboard and use the neck itself. I filled in the guide holes with filler and sanded it down.

05-Tunercloseup.
    The Ashbory tuning pegs were a little too long for the headstock, so I needed some spacers...

06-Sawedfrets.
    ...so I knocked off the first few frets of the fretboard and decided to use those as spacers. I work from the MacGuyver school of thought, and I always try to use what I have first before I go out and get something new. Just look at that masterful handsaw work!

3. ffutterman

May 7, 2010
    Philadelphia
    07-FretboardFilled.