1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

first gig questions

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by dlstyley, Oct 3, 2009.

1. dlstyley

dlstyley

Aug 30, 2009
    South Texas
    I'm pretty new to the board, and very new to gigging. We played our first real gig (technically our second, but the first where people paid money to get in) with an all original band I've been playing with for about 6 months.

Our first gig was a small cd release party. We set ourselves up in a small room the day before, got our levels right, played our entire set through once as practice, and then had a great show. We thought we sounded good, and got lots of compliments from the crowd of about 80 people. These were all friends, so we have to take their feedback with a grain of salt, but I'm pretty sure it was "good".

Our second gig was outdoors for about 200 ppl. We were standing on a narrow flatbed trailer that had wood planks for a floor. We tried to get a sound check early in the day, but we were the middle band so all we got was about 60 seconds of "sound check" before we hit the downbeat. At that instant, I realized everything just sounded like mud. I felt like a deer in headlights. We plowed through it. The sound guy came up behind the trailer and asked if I needed anything. I didn't even know where to start (plus I'm not very good and doing two things at once - like playing and talking) so I just smiled and plowed forward. When it was over, we were all in shock. People did cheer between songs (possibly just friends planted in the audience) and we got a good bit of positive feedback, but we sure felt like we muffed it.