1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First set of practice headphones...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by rollyolly, Dec 6, 2011.

1. rollyolly

rollyolly Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2011
    I'm just starting out, and the only time I have to practice is right after I put the kids to sleep. Obviously I can't practice through my amp, so I want some headphones that sound really good.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I have no idea where to start. I'll just be plugging them into my amps headphone output.

2. rollyolly

rollyolly Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2011
    Any recommendations for good over the ear headphones in the $100 range?

3. pocketgroove

pocketgroove

Jun 28, 2010
    Detroit
  4. sennheiser HD 280 Pros are really nice. use them to practice and in the studio.

5. JxBass

JxBass Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2008
    I use Grado SR-80. Around $99 new.

6. I use Audio Technica M50's. It seals well, and is quite neutral, but a little over your $100 budget...

7. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    I have these, and they sound good, but can get a little hot on the ears after awhile.

8. domestique

domestique

Sep 5, 2011
    PA
    +1, and musicians friend was running a special where you get another pair of cheaper headphones free. check out "Dave the rat" he is the sound engineer for major rock acts RHCP etc. and he did a headphone test and they performed very well. A lot of the sonys did poorly.

The only thing I do not like is the coil wire.. But best headphones for 99 bucks, and you get another cheaper pair free for a spare..

9. zombywoof5050

zombywoof5050

Dec 20, 2001
    I like my AKG K240S headphones.