1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

First Song/Public Performance?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bassman2020, Oct 8, 2013.

1. bassman2020

bassman2020

Dec 8, 2010
    Last week I played my bass in front of people for the very first time. I played the bass line to "Stand By Me" at the reception for my daughter's wedding. My son-in-law played the melody on his alto sax. It was a surprise for my daughter.

I started the song off with that simple riff and the "crowd went wild" well not really wild but they really dug it and I knew right then that learning to play bass (2 years ago) was the right instrument for me to learn how to play and I'm still learning everyday loving every bit of it.

What song did you bassists first play in front of an audience?

2. i played Für Elise in front of a church crowd as a kid on piano.

3. Easy, Walk of Life, at the Rothesay Legion. I played the keyboard part on an old Casio POS, then switched to the bass for the rest of the song. The worst part is, we forgot to tune to the keyboard, and when the guitar player started, he was out of tune. :eek: I had to adapt real fast. :meh:

4. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

An original tune, cleverly entitled "Yeah".

The chorus was equally clever; it went something like "Yeaaahhhh! Yeahhhhhhh!"

Note the Metallica influence. :D

5. mellowinman

mellowinman Free Man Gold Supporting Member

Oct 19, 2011
    Minneapolis
    Not my first. My first was in High School. I was the lead singer, and I was awful. Wait; that wasn't my first, either. My first was when I was about 12, and in some youth choir. But the first that really mattered was at the Country House Talent Show, in Plymouth, Minnesota.