1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Foot Pedals and Genz Benz Opinion

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by jzangari, Apr 29, 2010.

1. jzangari

jzangari

Mar 18, 2010
    Looking for opinions...

I have a Genz Benz 1200 head that comes with a foot pedal. I also have a volume boost, tuner, octave pedal, and would like to possibly add something else for color. The problem is we are a 2 guitar band with a singer that moves around A LOT.

I am new to this established band and the guitarists have their pedals up front. I have put mine on the floor by my amp out of the way but it feels odd to me. The whole flow thingy is just not there. If I put the pedals at the front with the others, it becomes pedal land and gets really weird on small stages.

Who has faced something like this? Is there a solution? The guys are way cool but I would like to present this and have a solution in mind.

Also for the Genz Benz users, I am used to being loud (former Ampeg user) and I am getting bugged out by the limit lite. Is that something to worry about if it is just blinking on certain notes?

2. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    The limit LED just indicates that you are hitting the internal output tube emulation limiter. It's there for informational purposes to let you know where you are relative to the output level of the power amp. There is nothing wrong with it flashing, just like the gain reduction LEDs on a compressor-limiter. If it's on a lot, you are limitinbg quite a bit and you do wantto take that into consideration when choosing the power rating of the speakers you are using.