1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

From "Player" to "Musician"

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rimshot, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Rimshot

Rimshot Supporting Member

May 4, 2006
    Chicago
    I'd like to move from being a "player" to a "musician" which, to me, means understanding what I'm playing and why it works. Every time I've tried to dip my toes into the waters of musical notation, theory, scales, modes, etc., I find that my hands just end up going back to memorized patterns and I'm not internalizing the knowledge.

I've been playing bass and guitar for about 35 years, mostly rock. I grew up learning songs by ear, then supplemented by tab when it became readily accessible (and they really should vet those before allowing Joe Public to post 'em...some are just plain terrible). Through this I've found shapes and patterns to speed up the learning process and taken what was pleasing to my ears to write lines.

I'm considering ponying up for Scott's Bass Lessons, but am open to your advice based on experience.

Thanks, in advance, for your kind counsel and suggestions.

2. Drgonzonm

Drgonzonm

Sep 4, 2017
    American SW
    I have my mediocre bass number, so what I say may wrong. Take your existing music, to me a lead sheet, look at the first chord, is it the same root as the staff indicates, also, look at the last measure in the song, it is likely the same as the first. Ask yourself why. Maybe the first chord is a minor chord. Is the chord a major 5th above the root?
    Now look at other chords in the music, which are minor, which are major, are the there any 7ths, then ask yourself why. There should be patterns.
    These questions help you know if the song follows some of the standard rules.
    Do your chord patterns repeat how many measures,