FUNK anyone?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Thunderbird91, Jan 16, 2006.

1. Well I am new to bass and to music in general. I really dig classic rock and grunge. I also have a love for funk. I am new to funk and I am wondering who to check out. Sly and the family stone I already know. Besides that not much. who are some good funk bassists/bands?
  2. Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    The Ohio Players baby!!!
  3. Who are they?
  4. Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    *gasp* Blasphemy!!! ... Ever hear "Rollacoasta!!! of looooove.. rollacoasta... ooo ooo ooo" ?

Or "Fire" The Funkiest song ever!
  5. I feel so noobish... is that the name of the band?
  6. PhR

Dec 13, 2005
    Get Betty Davis' first album ("Betty Davis" 1972), it has Larry Graham and Greg Errico as a rhythm section (one track has Doug Rauch playing bass, he is no slouch either) and great funk-rock songs by Betty.
  7. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Since you seem to be a complete Newbie, I suggest you get some greatest hits collections so you can get an idea of the variety of music that comes under the heading, "funk." Just like King Crimson sounds nothing like the Ramones, Earth Wind and Fire is miles away from the Fatback band.

If you have satellite radio or live in area with enough Black people, look for an oldies station that would play music from the funk era. You could also do that via web radio.
  8. Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    Well some of my favorite funk bands are as follows...

For the more classic sort of Funk in my mind (opinions may vary on if these guys classify as funk, but they all have funky songs in their repetior):

Earth, Wind & Fire
    Herbie Hancock and The Headhunters
    James Brown
    Kool & The Gang
    Stanley Clarke
    Stevie Wonder
    The Meters/The Funky Meters
    Curtis Mayfield

Some more modern Funk/Groove

Medeski, Martin & Wood
    Alan Evans
    Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals (Fight For Your Mind)