1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting a New bass, need help deciding (I'm New Here)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by classix, Mar 14, 2009.

1. classix

classix

Mar 14, 2009
    Selma, AL
    hey guys, im new to the TalkBass forums. My names Will, ive been playing bass for about 5 1/2 years, and my current rig consists of, Ampeg SVT810E, Ampeg SVT450 Head (getting a new head for gradution too) and a MIM Fender Jazz bass, that ive upgraded with a BAII bridge and Fender Custom Shop 60's PU's.

So, heres the deal. :)

for graduation, im getting a new bass. i can pick pretty much w/e i want up to the $1,700 US price range.

Basically, these are the basses i WANT. i want one of THESE basses, i just need help picking out one of them. i listen to lots of indie, and love the tone in bands like:

Tokyo Police Club
    Cold War Kids
    We Barbarians

Here are the basses im trying to decide between:

MusicMan Stingray 4 HH
    Fender American Standard Precision
    A used vintage 1970's P-Bass (off ebay, or craigslist or something)
    used Fender American Deluxe P-Bass (would buy a new one, but they are $1,800 new so id have to find one used to stay under $1,700)
    Rickenbacker 4003 (off Ebay)
    vintage 1970's Gibson Ripper (off Ebay)

those are the basses im trying to decide between.
    Thanks for help.

oh yea, and the bass MUST have a maple neck/fretboard, with exception for the Rickenbacker.

2. DrPepper09

DrPepper09

Jan 22, 2009
    Denton, TX
    I would personally go with the American P bass (olympic white/maple fretboard)
    you can't go wrong with the fat sound of precision pickups

3. classix

classix

Mar 14, 2009
    Selma, AL