1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

GK 800 RB cab matching question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lucifersam76, Jan 18, 2012.

1. lucifersam76

lucifersam76

Jan 18, 2012
    los angeles
    ok so i have a gk 800 rb coming in the mail tomorrow. I have an ampeg 1510 cab 175 watts 8ohm and I also have a carvin NE15 600 watt 4 ohm speaker that was given to me. one question I have is, should I put the carvin speaker in the ampeg cab and biamp the highs to the 10 (to much juice for the 10?) and lows to carvin ne15 (I would have to rig a speakon jack in the cab) and eventually build a new cab for the leftover ampeg 15 speaker? OR should I leave the ampeg cab as is (run full range for now), build a cab for the carvin ne15? and run full range or biamp? I am fairly new to owning bass gear, ive been playing forever but have always used other peoples stuff as I am a guitar player first, also I am on a budget and this ampeg cab was purchased with another head in mind but that deal fell through so I am trying to make do with what I have and am wondering if anyone can help me with this. and will I have phase issues with any of this? thanks!!!!
    ~Sammy

2. punkrocko

punkrocko

Jun 18, 2002
    Nashville, TN
    I would run the 800RB full range into the Ampeg as is. See how you like it first, before you over think it.

3. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    +1

Note, the low amp in the 800rb is a 4ohm minimum amp just like many other bass amps. The high amp is an 8ohm minimum . Remember that. Some guys blow the high amps because of that.

4. husky123

husky123

Jul 6, 2006
    Leesburg, VA
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses and Bergantino Audio Systems