1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Got fired from my band last night.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by butchblack, Jan 25, 2009.

1. butchblack

butchblack Life is short. Do good. Find and do what you love.

Jan 25, 2007
    Waltham Massachusetts
    Hi All

The title says it all. I got a message on my voice mail to call the band leader. As soon as he started a low tone mumbling story I knew what was coming. This did not come as a complete surprise. The band is shifting format. I'm basically a blues bassist. When I joined the band was doing eclectic blues, well within my comfort zone. Just before the new guitarist joined a decision was made to go more into a classic rock/ old school R&B mode to see if we could get into more rooms. As this happened I found myself more at odds with the drummer, I play by ear, he likes to copy the recording exactly, and would disagree on what were minor rhythmic differences. The new guitarist added a lot of fuel to the let's change the band's format. We went into the studio to record 3 of the band leader's originals with only a few weeks to rehearse them. As they were definitely not blues, and I was in my busy period at work, I struggled to get bass lines that were acceptable and learn them. I made it for the recording, but just by the skin of my teeth. From then on, I was detecting some frustration/ animosity from them. 2 months later I'm fired.

I handled it as amicably as possible. I try not to burn bridges unless necessary. What I need to do is decide what I want to do next. I'm basically a weekend warrior, with a goal of it being a self supporting hobby. My thoughts are to find another blues band, as that's what I like to play, and play well. I need to not rush this and wait for a good fit.

Any thoughts or insights welcome. Think I'll hit a jam session tonight. Thanks for letting me vent.

2. ()smoke()