Help! Aguilar DB 359 Problems

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ajb, Oct 19, 2005.

1. ajb

Mar 20, 2005
    Hey there everyone, I'm new to the talkbass community and need some input regarding a problem I had with my Aguilar DB 359 at band rehearsal on Saturday. bear with me, this may be a little long. Basically, the amp cut out on me about ten minutes into our first song. It didn't completely cut out, but there was a dramatic loss in volume that made the amp unuseable. The weird thing is that when I tried my amp at home afterwards, it worked perfectly. FYI I have a passive Fender jazz bass and I was plugged into the passive jack.

I called Aguilar and, although they're very nice and responsive guys, they weren't too helpful. Their tech guy told me that unless I could recreate the problem, neither they nor an authorized repair technician could fix it. Is this right? The tech guy also made some bizarre recommendations about recreating the problem, such as inserting a "chopstick" into the active input jack while playing in the passive jack and -- get this -- giving the amp a good smack. I did not do any of these things, of course, but I did try to recreate the problem at home by playing at different volumes, settings, etc.). I couldn't get the amp to cut out no matter how hard I tried. I have a gig coming up and I need the amp to work, period.