1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help for a newbie

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MrMoo, Sep 27, 2013.

1. MrMoo

MrMoo

Sep 27, 2013
    Hi guys
    I'm sure you've seen this post 1000 times before, so apologies in advance. I'm a guitarist who's always been fascinated with bass so I have decided I would like to get myself one.
    so here is the $1mil question. which one shall I go for? keep in mind I don't want to spend a lot. My budget is about £150-200 ($250-350) for a second hand one
    Do you think I can get something that doesn't sound like a tin of baked beans?
    I have seen a few affordable ones and would like to pick your brain
    Squier Affinity J
    Squier Vintage Modified J
    Squier Standard P
    Cort GB24
    Cort GB34
    Cort 4b
    Peavey Zodiac
    I'm also planning to get a Marshall MB15 amp. A friend has ones and sounds pretty sweet.
    I'd really appreciate any pointers, and do feel free to suggest any other basses along these price bracket.
    thanks
    G

2. onefallinghope

onefallinghope

Nov 25, 2012
    Groton, CT
    There really is no specific answer. You've really got to get out and play some to get a feel for what you're looking for.

Now, if I personally were looking for a bass in that price range I'd be considering basses in the Squier Classic Vibe series, or used MIM Fenders.

If the narrow "fast" neck is your thing, there is also a million and a half used Ibanez Soundgears that fall into that price range.

3. MrMoo

MrMoo

Sep 27, 2013
    thanks a lot. I was hoping you could point me towards something with warm tones amongts those one I have mentioned

4. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh

Dec 21, 2012