1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help me end my GAS and quit my second job!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by neddyrow, Nov 28, 2017.

1. neddyrow

neddyrow Captain of Team Orange Jacket Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2011
    Cortland, NY
    quick back story.....

i am a teacher by day and a bartender on friday nights. i am also a husband and a dad of two wonderful boys (2 & 4 y/o). needless to say, with playing music, i am very busy. I am almost 41 and i'm getting too old to work in a college bar.

i have been working this job to pay extra bills but mostly to buy gear. i'd like to quit so i can play more gigs and spend more time with the kids instead of working late on fridays and being tired all day saturday.

the solution is to end my GAS! and i think i am pretty close

What else do i need/want?

I have:
    Upton plywood bass
    Meisel 1950s german plywood (backup bass)
    Guild B30 - ABG
    Martin D-15 acoustic guitar
    Martin 000-15 sm acoustic guitar
    custom hpf/lpf/DI
    AI Focus 1 series iii
    AI Ten2 head
    AI flex preamp
    Crazy 88 cabinet
    2 - Ampeg 210AV cabinets

Full PA system - for small to medium gigs
    2 mains
    2 monitors
    mics, stands, cables, DIs, etc.

Small PA System
    Carvin AG300 + Extension Cab
    Mackie SRM 150 mini-monitor

so as you can see, I've got all a semi-professional musician needs. I've even got a back up for everything from extra amp, cabinet, strings.....what else do i need?

i plan on buying a BG (gasp!) just to have one as my bands' direction may change a little where i may need to double. But, that's it.

Please let me know what else i'll need before i feel i can quit without needing more gear!

2. sevenyearsdown

sevenyearsdown Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Sanborn, NY
    a B15, or SB12...Well those are on my list anyway.

neddyrow likes this.