Help me out of a rut

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by theshadow2001, Jun 18, 2004.

1. theshadow2001

Jun 17, 2004
    Hey there, I've been playing either guitar or bass for about 4 or 5 years now and although people have complimented me on my bass playing I still feel that i suck ass.I really want to improve and become a better player,the thing is there is just so much information out there that i should know, techniques that i should be able to do but its all a bit over whelming.I just dont know what i should be focusing on or how i should go about learning these things.I dont know where to start and where to go on to from there. When I practice its just the same old same old, playing songs I already know and twiddling away on pentatonics and frankly its all got a bit stale. Unless i move out of this rut i feel im gonna stay at this level of playing for ever which really isnt good enough.Before anyone suggests getting a teacher the only guy i know that teaches bass in my town is one of those fellows who knows absoloutley everything but just cant get that info across to the student.He's very expensive and i feel its a waste of money to get lessons with him again if im learning nothing....My god this is an awful whiny post sorry bout that but if anyone has any magical soloutions just let me know :( :crying: :bawl:
  2. stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Hi and welcome to Talkbass. :)

I feel like you sometimes - not exactly knowing what to practice. With me, it's a disorganized feeling. And what I do for that is sit down and write down a list of things I know I need to work on and what goals I have.