Hey, gospel folks, Andrew Gouche?

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by lordradish, Jan 31, 2020.

1. lordradish

lordradish Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2006
    Vermont
    Hey,

I've been playing in my local gospel choir for almost 17 years now... It's a gig, a good one, that enables me to go out of my comfort zone from time to time, and play with some really top-tier musicians. Outside of what we play, though, I don't really listen to much gospel, as I'm pretty much the opposite of religious and my personal listening is in a much different realm, nowadays. Vermont's a pretty secular place, so there aren't a lot of straight-up gospel musicians up here. That said, I do a pretty decent job, as I'm very familiar with the older stylings of gospel and work my butt off with the more modern new stuff we do. One thing I do believe in is the power of music, so it's a good situation.

Anyways, a few days ago, I saw that video on Scott's Bass Lessons where he had Andrew Gouche on there. I was absolutely floored, and I ran upstairs right away and played my butt off, that night. Can any of you in the know recommend some great gospel albums he's done in the last few years where he's really prominent? I only ask because he seems to be quite prolific. WHat are some of your faves, and why? Thanks!

ElectroVibe, Alex Bass and LM Bass like this.
  2. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA
    He’s a great player. He lives just down the street from me. He put on a masterclass a couple months ago that I attended. Really good info, fun stories.

cableguy and lordradish like this.
  3. chilliwilli

chilliwilli

Aug 17, 2005
    Lol you've been playing gospel for 17 years and have never heard someone play like that? He is one of the pioneers of modern gospel bass, but there are guys out there that are as good or better. Don't limit yourself. Just search for uptempo gospel music and you can't help, but hear his influence.