How Did I Do It?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by EricTheEZ1, Dec 11, 2004.

1. EricTheEZ1

Nov 23, 2004
    Clawson, MI
    Not to toot my own horn, but I must've been born with "bassic" instincts. Lately I've felt a little stagnant in my playing like I can't expand my mind. I've been reading up on the basics and working my way up to see if I missed anything.

I've never taken lessons or really learned from anybody as far as bass goes. To my surprise, I did so many things right from the get go that I didn't realize were the right ways to do things. Everything from right and left hand techniques to a lot of theory. I just kinda figured it out from myself and the stuff I was doing.

I would have loved to start earlier (I'm 19 and only played for a year) with a teacher. I feel like with the right teacher I could be way better than I am now.

To transform this topic into something useful, how many of you were self taught and what were your good and bad moments in how you came to be a bass player? What were the best sources of learning for you?