Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do you go about writing music?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by grahambo420, Sep 23, 2003.

1. So basically, I'm a writer. I write song lyrics all the time, and lately, I've had the obsession with trying to write music to go along with the melodies that I already have in my head. I just wanted to know how those of you who write music go about it. I play enough guitar to get by, but I've been having problems with my rythmns changing when I start with guitar. And when i try to start with bass I have problems because in order to sing the songs, I need to keep the bass line simple, and I somehow always manage to overcomplicate it. Suggestions, experiences, anything you've got to share is welcome, thanks.

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    I rip off Barry Manilow ever chance I get.

I write the songs that make the whole world sing
    I write the songs of love and special things
    I write the songs that make the young girls cry
    I write the songs, I write the songs.

Thanks Barry.

3. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

Like most people, if it's new whether it's your own composition or someone else's, there's coordination involved. Repetition y'know, and over time, you'll(should) get better at it.
    Take lessons if necessary.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Get a metronome and start with that!

5. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    First thing I do is start a thread in General Instruction.

6. How about:

I'm too sexy for my keyboard,
    too sexy for my keyboard,
    'cause I'm too sexy.

I'm too sexy for my mousepad,
    too sexy for my mousepad,
    'cause I'm way too sexy.

:):)

ed

7. shon

shon

Nov 27, 2002