1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do you know what notes you should be playing for a song?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DuckSoup, Dec 20, 2017.

1. DuckSoup

DuckSoup

Dec 20, 2017
    Colorado
    So I'm very new to bass, and currently I'm learning my scales, circle of fifths, notes on the finger-board etc...

But outside of that I like to listen to some music I enjoy, and improvise some bass lines. Either mimicking what the artist has played, or just adding a touch of my own. Just to take a break from all the music theory stuff and keep me engaged.

When a song plays, in my mind I know what I want the bass to sound like, but how do you know what notes you should be playing in a song? I know you can go with what feels "Right" but surely there is a science to it. If a certain note feels right, what note is it, and why does that note work? Is it all based on what "Key" a song is written in? Right now I just pluck random strings till I find that note that "Feels" right, but it doesn't feel like the right way to go about it.

I'm just trying to figure out how you know what to play. If a song plays, I want to be able to say "Ah yeah let's start with a C, then down to a X, then on to an X...etc" Does that make sense? I've been playing drums for over 20 years, and when I hear a song, I can figure out pretty quickly what kind of beat to lay down. I'm trying to figure out how to do that for the bass.

Thanks guys. My understanding of this may be off, so please offer any insight or suggestions you have.

LowActionHero and FenderB like this.
  2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA