1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How to hook up new JBL subs?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by slap-a-da-bass, Aug 12, 2012.

1. slap-a-da-bass

slap-a-da-bass

Sep 28, 2009
    I ordered a pair of JBL PRX618s-xlf subs last week, & they'll be here tomorrow. I understand how my board works, and I'v been giging & running sound for us for a year or so now, so I'm not a complete newb.

Here's my thoughts. We are a five piece, two guitars, bass, drums, vocals, and we always run in mono. I'm thinking of taking the sum mono out of the board, into the 1st sub, link to the 2nd sub. Now engage the x-over on the 2nd sub, up to my powered RCF are 312, and lastly come back to the last top. This would be one continuous chain, and seems like it will work, I don't know that it's ideal though.

I did have a question about the JBL subs, they have a L & R input, and the specs say 2 x 500w for the amps. I'm wondering if I only use the L or R input, & I only getting 1/2 the power? Should I be splitting the signal going into the subs? or will the sub use both amps when it only see's one signal?

2. modulusman

modulusman Banned

Jan 18, 2004
    montana
    It would be easier to help you if we knew what your mixer and any outboard gear is. You will still be getting full power no matter what input you use.

3. uhdinator

uhdinator

Apr 20, 2010
    Maine
  4. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    Aux 'em.

5. slap-a-da-bass

slap-a-da-bass

Sep 28, 2009
    I read in the manual that the inputs are summed, but I didn't see anything how the internal amps are used. I've read on forums, from people that are using them, that there seems to be more output when the L & R inputs are used. Someone stated +6db.