1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How Were Musicians Taught For Decades?

Discussion in 'Ask Jeff Berlin [Closed]' started by JeffBerlin, Jan 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JeffBerlin

JeffBerlin Guest

Jan 10, 2009
    This is a new thread where it is my wish to share that the only apparent way that people were taught how to play was by being assigned musical content by qualified teachers to practice. Musical content in this instance is music based in harmony, melody and rhythm to practice. This method worked so well that nearly everybody that played an instrument and who were not self taught (or in charge of what they decided to learn and play by) were taught musical content for literally centuries.

If practically everyone was taught how to play by reading and practicing written musical content based in the factual definition of musical principles, it seems that bass lessons should be centered around teaching the same principles. There isn't any other approach in the academic world that has shown success in teaching people. This is easy to check. Choose ten musicians from all kinds of different styles of music and see if you can determine how they learned how to play. You will notice that they learned how to play via two ways only:

1. They were taught musical content based in written out or concrete harmonic principles.

2. They were self taught, or, if you like, in charge of everything that they considered beneficial to work on to benefit their musical improvement.