1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I may need help understanding my Bass Big Muff.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ishouldbeking, Mar 19, 2009.

1. ishouldbeking

ishouldbeking

Feb 5, 2007
    Hollywood, CA
    Endorsing: SIT, Eastwood, Hanson
    The other day I was at my local shop buying my long saved-for, much sweated-over dream bass (fireglo Rick), and on a whim I got them to throw in a Bass Big Muff for very little extra scratch. I'm new to fuzz, and I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I haven't figured out how to get a usable sound yet.

I was hoping for, i dunno, some kind of grindy biting fuzz... but i haven't been able to get much more than a kind of oversaturated swampy fart sound. So perhaps this is the wrong pedal for me, or, and this a distinct possibility, perhaps i have no idea how to use it.

Yes, yes, i did a search already, thanks. But here's what I'm wondering... is there any way to use this pedal and maintain some semblance of attack? I'm a pick guy, playing rounds on a Rick (and others basses but that's the main one now). Every time i click it on, no matter what tone or sustain setting i lose at least 90% of the attack. Might as well be using an ebow. Is there a trick to getting the knobs to work together? It seems like the tone knob at its higher settings cuts a significant amount of bass, which seems counterproductive. And i kept noticing weird volume drops... particularly in bass boost mode. Am i overloading the pedal somehow with too much input? And one last question... to use the dry setting, do you have to use both outputs? I switched over to DRY and couldn't get the knobs to make any change to the tone.