Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by MODNY, Feb 19, 2005.

1. MODNY

MODNY Guest

Nov 9, 2004

i have been messing around with adobe audition 1.5 and i need to get a soundcard so i can plug my bass right into my computer

what do u think i should get??

i was looking at soundblaster audigy 2's or whatever

my buddy has one, but he's no help because he can't remember **** lol

what are u guys and gals using>? i dont really wanna blow the bank either

2. Rasmuth

Nov 26, 2004
    Churchville, NY
    I use the Soundblaster Audigy2 myself in my home-studio...

Most "serious" musicians slam the crap out of this card...but I've been using it with little trouble and I believe my recordings sound pretty good...I also know others who use it also and their stuff sounds fine also.

Click on the link below if you want to hear what you can do with this card...I am a complete novice at home-recording...only started last November (before that I was away from music for 17 years...never even touched an instrument)...so this will give you a fair representation

"Here we go" is my latest recording and it sounds the best I believe.
  3. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    The problem most serious home recorders have with the Audigy is the poor implementation of DXi plug in compatibility in the drivers. This leads a lot of people with this card to have serious latency issues with a lot of popular higher end effect and softsynth packages. If you don't use these tools you are not likely to run into issues. I would still never personally use a Creative product for recording though, their drivers are simply not clean or effcient enough and have too many compatibility issues with too many apps (I used to do compat and QA testing in the video game industry, guess what cards we saw the most issues with?)