Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm Finally In a Band!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by spyingcracker, Oct 11, 2004.

1. spyingcracker

spyingcracker

May 27, 2004
    I've been playing bass for about 7 months now, but haven't been in a band before. I've just jammed occasionally with my friend, who plays guitar. Two days ago, I went to my friend's house, and another guy I know that plays drums, guitar, and bass is over there. They want to jam, so the bass/drum/guitar player brought over his bass and amp for me to use, while they both played on guitar to a keyboard drum machine. Anyway, he mentions that his "hardcore" band broke up because they got tired of all the distortion and vocal-chord tearing. I went home a few hours later and the guy that plays guitar calls me. I answer the phone, and he tells me that they were looking to start up a new band that will play blues and rock, and asked if I would play bass for them. He said that they had wanted to hear me play to see how well I could do in a band. So, he will play rhythm guitar, harmonica, and piano/keyboard, Mr. bass/drum/guitarplayerman will play lead guitar, I will play bass, and we got a drummer that used to go to my church! For some songs I may switch out with the other guy that plays bass and play some keyboard or something. We are going to begin practicing as soon as the guitar guy's football season is over, which is in about two weeks. :bassist:

2. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    That's awesome Cracker! I really wish you guys the best of luck. I've been in a few bands but never for more than a few weeks :scowl: . It just seems to always fall apart like a house of cards (egos, laziness, different tastes). I'm somewhat in awe of you guys who can actually make it work.