Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

IM LOST! suggestions for my rig?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by garrett, Sep 10, 2004.

1. garrett

garrett

Sep 10, 2004
    I am new to this whole amplifying double bass thing. I have a realist pickup running through a trace elliot 350 watt head into a 4x10 cab. Not enough volume before things start to feed back. I also sanded my own adjustable bridge, maybe I don't have enough even pressure on the pickup? I am very ignorant of sound equipment so type slowly please. Thank you very much for any suggestions.

2. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    Acoustic instruments feed back; unlike instruments with magnetic pickups (and even semi-hollow basses with mag pickups will, too), you can't stand in front of the amp and expect to get higher volumes. Speaker placement and a lot of other factors play into the achievable volume levels. Also, a Realist-equipped bass is likely to feed back more readily than some of the other pickups available.

There's a lot to learn, and a single message can't tell you everything-- check past threads to learn more about the topic. There's a very useful search function on the board.

3. smallfry

smallfry

Aug 30, 2004
    i have been trying something different recently, with good results.

i have been running 2 pickups. one is a pierre josephs magnetic (never ever feeds back) and also a barcus berry peizo on the bridge.

when "ins" on the mixing board permit, it has been a nice combo of sounds. the electro mag (while not really picking up any of the "wood" tones) get a good focused tone and the piezo get the nuance and woody sounds.

4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis