In Praise Of Old Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by slam dunk, Jun 24, 2022.

1. slam dunk

slam dunk

Feb 19, 2020
    Iowa
    I've been playing bass for over four decades and have conservatively spent thousands of dollars on new sets of bass strings. Most strings were purchased when I traveled and played bass full time. These days, I play a few jobs every month and try to practice every day.
    Although I love the sound and feel of a great set of brand new round wound strings, (I can't stand flatwounds), it's hard to justify the expense. Especially since I perform on five, and sometimes six string basses. It has also begun to strike me as environmentally wasteful to change strings very often.
    Consequently, I leave strings on as long as I can get by with it. I've tried boiling strings a few times to revive them but for me, boiled strings are weird, uneven, and unpredictable. I've learned to compensate for normal, gradual string decay with tone controls, various effects, right-hand technique, playing styles, setup, and sometimes my note choices. It actually provides another interesting challenge and level of enjoyment for me. To top it off, I often receive compliments on my tone from bandmates and people in the audience.
    Eventually, I treat myself and order a couple new sets starting the whole process over again.
    I'm interested to hear other players views on the subject.

2. stigbeve

stigbeve

Sep 24, 2014
    I have some 12 year old roundwound DR Hi-Beams on one of my 4 strings. Hardly any sustain but they sound
    good for certain types of music.

slam dunk likes this.
  3. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

I'm a flats player who has never changed a set of flatwound strings except to go to a lighter gauge. Been playing electric bass since 1967.

My '63 P has flats that date to at least 1972. That's 50 years on those strings, and they still sound good.