1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Instrument Insurance?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by jeisdorfer, Feb 25, 2009.

1. jeisdorfer

jeisdorfer

Oct 9, 2008
    Boston, MA
    Just curious who most people are insuring their instruments through these days?

I've had my bass insured through State Farm for about 9 years now, and I just recently found out they don't cover "instruments for hire" - in other words, I was filing a claim (my first and only!) and they asked me I've gotten paid to play a gig recently and I stupidly said yes and twenty minutes later they faxed me a denial notice. Glad I've been paying them for 9 years for nothing.

Anyways! I want to go with the new company now, obviously. Any suggestions? I looked into Clarion Instrument Insurance and they have a flat $1,000 deductible for double basses, which is fine if it gets stolen (knock on wood), most repairs (that they actually cover) don't go much past $1,000.

Clarion also doesn't cover "wear and tear" which includes weather and normal deterioration - which is 99% of why people have work done. Are there any companies that will cover seams popping open? They basically only cover some travel (not cargo on a plane/bus), theft (but not "mysterious" theft), some accidental damage (dumb tuba player drops a stand on your bass) or fire.

So -- what kind of insurance do you have? What does it cover? Deductible? High premiums? Lets talk!

2. koricancowboy

koricancowboy Ausberto Acevedo Supporting Member

Jun 10, 2003
    chicago
    Join ISB! They have a discounted rate for members. It is through Merz Huber and it's pretty good according to the rider. Haven't had to make a claim. PLUS it's ISB.

3. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago