1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Intonation help

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by bigcello, Oct 17, 2006.

1. bigcello

bigcello

Dec 13, 2004
    Pomona, CA
    So that I can introduce myself a bit, please indulge me with this little bio:
    I am currently working toward a PhD in Musicology, and I don't get the chance to play bass as often as I'd like. I have been taking Viola da gamba lessons for the past year as part of the MA program I just finished...I earned a Bachelor's degree back in 2004 in Music (not performance, though I was required to give a full recital on double bass...). I was listening to the recording from my senior recital last week and I was kind of bummed...To help you to see where I was, chops-wise, back then, here are the pieces I played: Bach Cello Suite #1 (down an octave), Hindemith Sonata, Capuzzi Concerto and an arrangement of Prokofiev's Romance from Lieutenant Kijé Suite. Not the highest caliber, I know, but it is what it is. Anyway, after listening to the recording I couldn't help noticing how awful the intonation is in some spots. I am pretty pleased with the sound itself, and the phrasing/musicality is good (for the most part), but the intonation just kills everything. As I said earlier I haven't had many opportunities to play/practice since I started grad school back in 2005. I am now on staff at a local community school of music teaching double bass (and bass guitar) and I am really wanting to fix the problems I had in my technique in the first place (so that students don't pick them up) and once again begin to progress...