1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is Ska Dead?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by robbotbass, Dec 7, 2011.

1. If it is Dead should it stay that way? I hope not! the entire reason I'm a bassist is because of Ska! Love that island sounding melodic bass lines that alot of ska band have!

Anyone have a ska bassist or song obscure or popular to share? I'm looking to listen to some good ska from a bassist point of view!

2. Take an 33 1/3 vinyl LP of Led Zeppelin's Houses of the Holy and play D'yer Mak'er at 45 RPM.

Undiscovered Ska.

I hope Ska isn't dead. It's probably the wife's favorite genre.

3. SlingBass4

SlingBass4

Feb 28, 2009
    Kansas City
    It will outlast many of those "flavors of the year" IF played well and appropriately... ;)

4. Jinro

Jinro

Oct 9, 2011
    West TN
    Like this?

MONGOL800

I'm still confused what Ska really is. Some of the stuff that is supposedly "ska" sounds more hip-hop-ish to me.....

5. garmenteros

garmenteros Bass Enthusiast Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2008
    Dominican Republic
  6. garmenteros

garmenteros Bass Enthusiast Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2008
    Dominican Republic
  7. I like I like!

8. Yes, ska is dead. I thought I saw you at the funeral...

9. Smallmouth_Bass

Smallmouth_Bass

Dec 29, 2005
    Canada
    Check out the now defunct great Canadian ska band King Apparatus. They had a couple of albums in the early 90's with great basslines. I still listen to them today.

Singer Chris Murray is still playing roots reggae and ska in and around L.A. .

10. if it matters, i saw reel big fish and streetlight manifesto a few nights ago. both played incredibly (as they do). 1/3 of the crowd left after streetlight. maybe the days of happy go lucky goofy ska music ala less than jake, reel big fish, etc are over. but bands like Big D, streetlight, illscarlett.. they seem to be doing pretty okay.