1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this G&L project worth it? (1985 SB-1)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Stevenjm, Oct 4, 2013.

1. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Nov 23, 2012
    Milwaukee, WI
    http://milwaukee.craigslist.org/msg/4109699243.html

I'm thinking about picking this up... i sent him an email asking for better pictures.

$400 a good deal? Just needs pickups/electronics...

Plus i was born in '85, but i love that burst with the tinted neck & black guard.

2. Borzi_4

Borzi_4

Apr 3, 2012
    LA
    Ya, I'd get it for sure.

3. bkbirge

bkbirge

Jun 25, 2000
    Houston, TX
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    Yeah I'd get it too if I wanted another P. I'm not an expert on the really early G&L but you might want to inquire if that is an unmodified headstock, I don't remember my old '83 l2k being quite that 'shaved down' looking. I'm talking at the spot where a modern G&L would have a sharp point.

Still, take it to a G&L shop for real electronics and you'll have a killer bass for sure.

4. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Nov 23, 2012
    Milwaukee, WI
    I'm not an expert either, but it looks unmodified to me... I *think* the sb-1 and sb-2 had a thinner headstock design than the L1K or L2K.

You can order replacement parts on G&L's website, so i'm looking at about $80 for the MFD pickup, then $10 or so on new pots/jack.

The pickguard looks like it might be broke though, so I may need to look into replacing that too if its not sold already.

5. Crazy talk...

If the pickguard actually is broken you'll have a hard time finding another one. They were aluminum with black krinkle finish, and next to impossible to find.

Go check it out, if everything is in order it might be worth $400 plus $100 in fixups.

If it's been modded in any way, or if the neck has issues, or if it needs a fret job, I'd walk away from it. GL

btw, the headstock is correct.