Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jaco newbie here

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by jbennardo, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Considering how much I'm into my bass, I've never checked out any of Jaco's material. I don't know how that's possible, but most of my peers discussed Flea, or Claypool, or Geddy Lee, etc. Not until the mid to late 90's did I ever hear the word "Jaco".

In my reading I was shocked to see that he died a horrible death at a very young age. It's disturbing to see talent cut short. I had to dig a little to find out how he died. The fact that it was so tragic was probably why it wasn't easily found on the official site.

Although his rank as "the best" is disputed by some here, I believe you can borrow something from everyone and I will surely try to add some of his technique to my playing.

2. The Clap

The Clap

Jan 5, 2004
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Cool. If you want to find a lot of reading material, search for 'Jaco' in the thread titles of any forum on TB, he and his music come up a lot. My favorites are 'Come on Come Over' and 'Three Views To a Secret' from his debut album and Word of Mouth, respectively.

3. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

My personal Jaco favorites:

-"Donna Lee" from his debut solo album "Jaco Pastorius".
    -"Portrait Of Tracy". Don't miss this one! Also from his debut LP. This is a piece only a true genius can come up with, IMO.
    -"A Remark You Made" with fretless bass, from Weather Report's "Heavy Weather".
    -"Birdland" from the same album.

Also, try to watch his instructional "Modern Electric Bass" video. He's not at his best there, but it's great anyway. Check the "Jam In E" from that vid. One of the tastiest and grooviest improvisations I've ever heard.