1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Kicking Tab Habits

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BassPlayingCat, May 26, 2011.

1. I'm a semi-pro player working almost full time with music stuff, all bass work, and my big goal at the moment is to learn to plau fluently with a stave. I did the easy thing when I started playing by learning tab after tab and now it's coming back to bite me in the arse.

I can already read bass clef from my trombone days and I am working very hard to find a good way of weaning myself off tabs; being in a functions band with a vastly widening repertoire makes it a tough job to kick the habit as tabs are so easy in a hurry.

Does anyone have good techniques on switching? So far I've been learning scales, arps, a few songs, etc from some of my old trombone music as it obviously doesn't have the tab underneath but my brain is finding it tough work to translate the notes on the stave to the notes on the neck, even though I'm familiar with both!

Thanks,
    Chris

2. dmrogers

dmrogers Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2005
    Eastman, GA
    Practice, pure and simple.

I never got into the tab thing, but last year after playing all my life, I decided I really needed to learn to read.

I'm still learning! However, I can now look at a piece of music and after practicing it for a while, I can get it!

The more I study, the easier it gets. I have got a long way to go, but the hardest part was starting.

I highly recommend this book. Even though you can read and know the notes on the neck, having a structured book to practice on should help a lot. It also has a CD.

Another thing I do when I get a little bored with the book is download guitar pro files of songs I want to practice on and load them into tuxguitar. I can then print out the music for the bass parts and start practicing.

Good luck!