Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Let's try this AGAIN.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Freaky Fender, Nov 9, 2003.

1. Alright. So I need to clean off my rosewood fretboard, and I'm not sure what to use. I have never done this before, so all opinions would be apprichated. I've heard of people using furinature polish, Martin Guitar Polish, boiled Linseed oil, or lemon oil. Which would you reccomend?

2. Gabu

Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    I have been very happy with the lemon oil I have been using. No problems or complaints. I haven't tried the other things though.

3. thadood

thadood

Jun 16, 2003
    Memphis, TN
    When I do mine, I use car interior polish on the frets, followed by a brisk rub down of rubbing alcohol, followed by a smothering of lemon oil. Works well for me. I think everyone has their own particular way of cleaning the fretboard. As long as it doesn't damage it, there really is no wrong way.

4. Aussie Mark

Aussie Mark I come from a land down under Supporting Member

Oct 26, 2002
    Sydney, Oz
    Endorsing Artist: Fender; O'Neill Amps; Cave Passive Pedals
    Plain natural lemon oil or orange oil. No additives. Linseed oil softens rosewood, so I wouldn't be using it (but linseed is ok for ebony or maple).

5. I use naphtha, followed by mineral oil. after reading all the conflicting information on this site, that's what i ended up with.

6. I make a point to clean my fret board, each time I change my strings.I use Martin Guitar polish. I would suggest the same to you.

However, you do not need to oil the board each time. Only when the board looks and FEELS dry.

[​IMG]
    Treena

7. Freaky Fender, this is from The Bottom Line.

By: Roger Sadowsky.