1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for EUB with DB feeling, but convenient to transport

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Michal Herman, Jul 18, 2018.

1. Michal Herman

Michal Herman

May 31, 2013
    Hi all,

Because I am an amateur bass player with a full-time job I often practice in late evenings. During that times I use EUB with headphones to not disturb neighbors too much.
    I am now using Yamaha SLB100, which is very good because it has a feeling very close to real DB. But it's quite big for transporting for rehearsals and gigs - the bass in the case has about 175 cm in length.
    Can you recommend any other EUBs that are available on the market, have feeling similar to DB and it's more convenient to transport than SLB100? Because I would like to exchange my SLB100 to that bass it will be great to fit into $3000 price range.

2. Disclaimer: I play BG and EUB, but I've never so much as held a DB.
    The NS EUBs won't be what you're looking for (I have a WAV4).
    However, I've just commissioned a Stico from Biarnel (Biarnel Stìco - Handmade Electric Upright Bass - Biarnel Liuteria) - if you stick to a plain paint-job and avoid fancy options like a figured-maple top, it should come in around your target price-point. It probably won't be much shorter than your SLB, but apparently it's designed so you can remove the neck for easier transport, so that may make it more practical for you.

Michal Herman likes this.
  3. madbanjoman

madbanjoman

Feb 23, 2011
    Pittsburgh
  4. ArteK

ArteK Supporting Member

For all their well-documented faults, a decently set up Palatino has much more of an upright feel than any of the “stick” versions. It’s got that bounce in the strings that eludes most of them. It’s the only electric upright I’ve played where I don’t shred my fingertips trying to play too hard.