1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Love that flatwound sound...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bassmasta76, Mar 17, 2010.

1. bassmasta76

bassmasta76

Mar 1, 2010
    So my counterpart in crime at work convinced me to try out flatwound strings. After much hemming and hawing about doing so, I decided to give them a whirl. I ordered some GHS flats... .45 - .105 and put them on over the weekend. As it turns out, I did this none too soon as when I tried to remove the E string, it snapped off at the tuning peg... so regardless of which type, I guess it needed doing.

Anyway, I've had the flats on for 4 days now and I love em. The fat, warm tone is awesome and they feel like butter. I've never used anything but roundwounds before but I really like them.

For anyone who hasnt tried them, I highly recommend them.

--b

2. JoZac21

JoZac21

Nov 30, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY
    Honestly. I'm one of a rare breed in that I keep trying to get into playing roundwounds, but I haven't found a set that "does it" for me like a set of flats does... weird... :eyebrow:

Anyways... welcome to the world of flats!

3. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Precisions or Brites?

4. bassmasta76

bassmasta76

Mar 1, 2010
    I got the Precision strings...catalog part M3050...

5. sublimestylee

sublimestylee

Aug 26, 2007
    Seattle, Wa
    I'm a firm supporter of flats. I got some on my jazz, and i just recently bought a p bass this weekend and strung it with flats last night! The tone is amazing when they are on a p bass :bassist:

6. Bassman822

Bassman822

Sep 1, 2007
    Bessemer, AL
    I've got Daddario chromes on my G&L L2K and mim pbass, TI jazzflats on my p/j fretless. Love 'em

7. king_biscuit

king_biscuit Supporting Member

May 21, 2006
    US
    GHS Precision flats are currently my favorite flats.

8. mongo2

mongo2

Feb 17, 2008
    Da Shaw