1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Low quality instruments vs. medium quality

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bexuga, Feb 9, 2019.

1. Bexuga

Bexuga

Feb 21, 2018
    Almada, Portugal
    Hey guys, I'm a junior bassist and I recently discovered (after 12 years of playing) that there are short scale basses, and I bought a Harley Benton secondhand for 40€ to try it out, and I found that it is much more comfortable for me to play, since I'm a young lady with tiny hands and also have back issues.
    Anyway, my question is: since I'm not in a band right now, and I haven't been in a while, do you think it would be a good investment anyway to spend 200€ on a Squier VM Jaguar Bass? I chose the Squier Jag, because I heard the Bronco sucks, and it is still basically a Fender instrument, so if I change the pups, the tuners and the bridge, I can get a great instrument if I ever want to.
    I don't actually need it, but I really think that it would improve my playing. I find the Harley Benton so bad that I keep practicing on my long scale Stingray instead, but I can't endure long practices because I get tired fast. Also, the Stingray has flats, and I haven't changed the Harley Benton strings because it just seems crazy to me to spend as much on strings as I spent on the bass itself.
    Idk, sometimes I feel like I'm just making excuses to buy a new bass :roflmao: What do you guys think?

Pbassmanca and rollie 55 like this.
  2. James Collins

James Collins

Mar 25, 2017
    Augusta, GA
    What in particular don't you like about the current bass? I ask because if it is uncomfortable because of a bad setup, it will be a gamble with any bass.

3. Modler

Modler

Jan 16, 2017
    Denmark
    You might not need to change anything on it, it'll probably be good enough as it is.