1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lurker Finally Gets an Account

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Wanker_Joe, Sep 29, 2017.

1. Wanker_Joe

Wanker_Joe

Sep 26, 2017
    Technically not my first post, but I did just notice this side of the forum and decided to jot down an introduction.

I've been lurking here a while, probably years actually, never really felt I could contribute much so I never posted, but who knows, eh? I've been dedicated to the low end for almost 23 years now. Played in a variety of bands and other situations. Self taught, and a giant wanker. You know the guy that plays way too many notes and decides that despite being a bass player they are the damn star that will rock the stage? That's me. "To hell with 'playing what the song requires'", I often say, "I am what the song requires!"

(As you can imagine I tend to be involved in projects that can best be described as "niche".)

I LOVE the bass. Subtle-laid-back-grooves and in-your-face-million-notes-a-minute wank fests. I love it all. I spend an inordinate amount of my time playing alone, late at night while the family is tucked into bed just exploring the wonders of our sensual and incredible instrument. It's meditative. My way to unwind after a long day at the office. Though I do have a long running band (been around 10 years now), that plays what can best be described as excessive, self-indulgent jam music. I also do a solo act, just vocals and bass, mostly covers though I throw in some originals as well.

Most of my time is spent playing my 2011 Warwick Streamer Stage II 5, which honestly is the best bass I've ever touched by a long shot and writing this out now I'm fantasizing about getting home to have some more time gently caressing it's solid afzalia body and neck. Ever notice how it seems to warm up as you play it? What a bass!