1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Luthier school vs. apprenticeship

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mmoehring, Aug 14, 2012.

1. mmoehring

mmoehring

Jun 25, 2012
    East Texas
    Was recently accepted into the Chicago school of violin making. I have been working on instruments for a few years now and I want to get real training. My only conflict is luthier school of apprenticing under a master luthier. I have been speaking with a couple of our countries top bass makers. They both have been wonderful mentors in this journey so far. I was hoping to open a discussion to see if anyone else has thought about these two different paths. Did you take one path? If you could do it over again would you go a different direction? I look forward to hearing from any who want to talk.

Mitch

2. This a a great idea!

I am currently apprenticing a master violin maker here in new Mexico, and plan attending North Bennett Street School in Boston for the luthier program once I graduate high school. For me, as of right now, school seems to be the right choice.

Would love to listen to opinions as well

3. It's possible the master luthiers who take apprentices only want apprentices who can already do some decent basic work. Seems like school training will give you a solid skill set that you can later take to a master luthier and actually offer him something for his efforts. No conflict is necessary, especially if you are willing to learn new ideas at each stage, even if they conflict with old ideas, without being overly attached to either.

4. powerbass

powerbass Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2006
    western MA