1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Modded Behringer Powerplay IEM (build report, DIY)

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Fredde, Oct 5, 2016.

1. Fredde

Fredde

Oct 21, 2010
    Helsinki, Finland
    Hi,

I wanted to share my latest build, in case someone else is looking for a similar solution. I've been using In-Ear monitoring for a few years now, but none of the ready-made solutions that I know of have exactly the features I need. The optimal solution IMO is:

- Only a single cable between myself and the pedalboard
    - The bass should be heard in the IEM even when she signal is tuner-muted (allows for last minute practice between songs...)
    - Belt mixer with separate controls for my bass and the main monitor feed
    - No batteries

Now, I built a first version of this system a couple of years ago, but it wasn't perfect, and I'm not going to share that here. But this second version turned out pretty good, so maybe it can be of value for someone else as well.

Instead of building the system ground-up, I chose to mod an existing belt pack this time. This way you don't have to design the mixer circuit, and you get some built in features like a protective limiter and the ability to drive low impedance headphones. I chose the Behringer Powerplay P1 for this purpose because it's cheap and has easily accessible innards.

The setup looks like this:
    monitor_mixer_setup.png

So, to the point, opening up the Behringer. Looks promising, standard connectors, lots of space inside:

P1_open.jpg

Replaced the connectors to XLR/plug combo and a 5-pin XLR. The combo connector allows for accepting a standard XLR monitor feed if I should want to use this for something other than bass playing at some point.

connectors.jpg

The connector board with molex connectors to plug in the Behringer's board, power cables and my buffer-splitter board: