Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Moogerfoogerooverkill

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Ben Clarke, Dec 28, 2005.

1. Ben Clarke

Ben Clarke Liquidating to fund a new business. Buy My Gear!

Jan 6, 2005
    Western NY
    So, I'm ordering what should be an interesting little setup tomorrow morning. MF-101 LP Filter with four EP-1 control voltage pedals. That should give me something to do for the next six months...

I haven't used anything but a DI (J48 lately) in my signal path for bass in a decade. I just started playing in an instrumental trio (w/ gtr and drums) and I think a powerful tool like that will help shape the direction of the project. I haven't felt a bit of desire for effects in the alt-blues thing I've been doing for the past 18 months, but I'm thinking of pulling my old Lexicon LXP-5 out of the studio now, too for modulation effects. It'll take some restraint to avoid the "Jaco Chorus" setting, but I really must resist that temptation.

I hope I don't have to sit down to play like Ben Harper!

2. Ben Clarke

Jan 6, 2005
    Western NY
    Sooo... any thoughts?

3. Bassist30

Bassist30

Mar 19, 2004
    NEW YORK
    I am a fan of the moogerfooger LP 101 and you will find great sounds from it. But the one thing that I hate is that it isn't true bypass. And you will hear it even when its off. Now it will effect your tone. All i can say is ... Get a looper. Make sure when its not on you have a clean signal path. Im not saying it will sound the same off or on, but it will get into you signal when off. But many don't so listen closely. I had mine for about 2 years. Its a very good pedal. With 4 expression pedals it will give you alot of sounds. I use just 2. But get a looper................

4. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut