1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Most iconic hard rock/metal amp & speaker?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by agedhorse, Feb 28, 2019.

1. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    I'm trying to get my head around this subject a little better since this isn't a genre I have a lot of on the road experience with. Of course the SVT would be a no-brainer, what other amps and speakers might qualify?

2. Clap Trap

Clap Trap

Jan 27, 2015
    Israel
    Fender Bassman...?

Bill Mather, Novarocker and Guiseppe like this.
  3. lethal dose

lethal dose

Apr 10, 2016
    GK has had many offerings throughout the years (RB and RB-II series) as has Mesa (400, 400+). Of course, the genre is not limited to these offerings, but they were/are pivotal in shaping the low frequency soundscape for hard rock/metal (at least to my ears). That said, I’ve certainly deviated from the “norm” on a number of occasions. To date, my favorite amp I’ve owned was my MPulse 600 of which I’ve played some VERY hard rock.

4. lethal dose

lethal dose

Apr 10, 2016
    Regarding speakers, I’m a terrible person to tell you what commercially available cabinet/driver combinations would be “best”. Certainly, there are the standard offerings you see on hard rock stages all over the world, but I’m convinced that custom built cabs tuned to my liking and outfitted kappalite, deltalite, etc. drivers are what sound and perform best for my particular needs.

5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups