1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Most Schlepp-able Combo ...

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Jason Hollar, Jul 23, 2018.

1. Jason Hollar

Jason Hollar Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2005
    Pittsburgh area
    Most Schlepp-able Combo ... that still kicks butt.

I’ve been gigging the MarkBass CMD 121 combo for several years but looking for a lighter, comparable option for the dreaded up-the-flight-of-stairs / remote location rig. Going ampless is not an option.

What are you cats currently using?

Must be a gig-tested, simple set it & forget it combo with piezo-friendly tones.

Fat bob and Ric Vice like this.
  2. oliebrice

oliebrice

Apr 7, 2003
    Hastings, UK
    I used a Markbass Micromark for years as a non-car owning bassist, and still do for the odd gig where I'm not driving but have to bring an amp. They're not the most powerful or highest quality amp in the world, but especially with a preamp did the job incredibly well for the price and weight. I can literally pick it up with one finger, and it fits in a large rucksack so I can carry it while wheeling the bass.

Now that I have a car I'm using an Aguilar Tonehammer with a separate cab and I am enjoying the additional power and fidelity, but the tiny Markbass was a good solution for hundreds of gigs

The most schleppable option of all, but only useful in venues big enough to have a PA and decent monitors - I know a couple of bassists who just bring the Aguilar Tonehammer pedal, and send a signal to front of house and get a monitor feed as their 'amp'. That works really well and fits in the bass case...

3. Fat bob likes this.
  4. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Povl,