NBD!! 2001 EBMM Sterling 4H Blue Pearl

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by selowitch, Feb 22, 2020.

1. selowitch

selowitch Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2005
    Rockville MD
    Today on a beautiful Maryland morning, I picked up this excellent bass via a local seller on Facebook Marketplace. It is my first time playing a USA-made EBMM Sterling and I am super-impressed. The weight is nice (around 8.5 lbs.), the neck is super-comfortable, and the sound is even better than I anticipated. I experimented a little with the slap tone and I was struck by its richness and depth. The finish is also excellent with only a minor ding or two. Music Man quality seldom disappoints. I acquired it for a very good price including the OHSC:

full_reverse2.jpg full2.jpg
    headstock_reverse2.jpg headstock2.jpg
    body2.jpg profile2.jpg

Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  2. selowitch

Aug 6, 2005
    Rockville MD
    I think the pickups are ceramic on the Sterlings and Alnico on the StingRays, but I am not 100% certain.

murphy, Randall and j.kernodle like this.
  4. Tubehed

Tubehed

Oct 27, 2011
    Westminister, CA
    Yes, they are ceramic on the Sterlings. Beautiful bass! Congrats! Love the necks on the Sterlings.

5. Tubehed

Tubehed

Oct 27, 2011
    Westminister, CA
    Also, the black PG looks nice but it might look really cool with a white pearl PG, as well.

selowitch likes this.
  6. king_biscuit

king_biscuit

May 21, 2006
    US
    That's a great color. I have never owned a Sterling, but I have owned SR5s (ceramic models) and always really like the sound.

tindrum and selowitch like this.
  7. selowitch

Aug 6, 2005
    Rockville MD
    Other possibilities for pickguards: red pearl, blue pearl, mint, blue shell, and of course tortoise.

8. QweziRider

QweziRider Supporting Member

Sep 15, 2008
    Northern Nevada, U.S.
    Ohhhhh, that's gorgeous.

selowitch likes this.
  9. Tubehed

Tubehed

Oct 27, 2011
    Westminister, CA