1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need To Pick a new Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ricky P., Sep 24, 2010.

1. Ricky P.

Ricky P.

Sep 23, 2010
    Florida
    I have been wanting a new bass forever now.I want A really Good one that is top Quality.I already have a Mexican STD P bass and it is awesome.I have been playing Bass for around 2 years and i have been i one band.

I have Been looking at 3 Bass's.But i have only played one of them and was seeing if any of you guys have.here Are the bass's im looking At.

1.Rickenbacker 4003
    2.Fender P bass 1962
    3.Gibson SG Bass(This is the one I played)

I Love the Rickenbacker 4003,It looks awesome and i also love the classic look and Sound.The Fender P bass Is also Awesome,I love Classic Fenders a lot.I played the Gibson SG At GC once and I loved the Tone and the way it felt was Awesome too.Tell me What you Guys think :)

2. circlechange

circlechange

Sep 29, 2009
    Red Bank
    Id Play as many as you can out of as many cabs as you can find. Out of that List Id say go with the 1962 p bass and be done with it. Best of both worlds with that bass, fat lows with some punch. I played a mexican jazz and a spector for a while and I just got a MM stingray today......Its unparrallel! Insane lows, crazy punchy mids(sounds like im slapping when Im not) and the bass has incredible action. Try one out!

3. rayzak

rayzak

Jan 13, 2001
    Louisville, KY
    Hey Ricky. You really need to play a Ric. People generally seem to love or hate them(I love 'em). The '62 P is an awesome bass, but don't know if it'd be worth the upgrade for you since you already have a P. The SG is also a cool bass, but like the Ric, can be love or hate. You seem to love it, so...

IMHO, they're all very cool basses. Just up to you to decide what you want.

4. kjpollo

kjpollo

Mar 17, 2008
    CT