New to playing, SR800, I have some questions.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Heathen_S13, Dec 14, 2017.

1. Heathen_S13

Heathen_S13

Dec 13, 2017
    Hello, this is my first post on here, I'm just getting started into bass playing and i picked up an Ibanez SR800 for $200 with a hard case and its in great condition. But I don't know really anything about it, I kinda just jumped the gun on it because I wanted to start playing so bad. The guy said it was from the 90's he just wasn't sure what year. That is about all he told me. Anyways I just wanna know more about this bass, if I made a good choice by getting this or if I should have waited for something else, and maybe some good tips for a new beginner.

I'm pretty excited overall, I love music and finally decided to be apart of it. I am a mechanic and I spend hours and hours on the 240sx forums, so I am really glad that there is a bass forum I can spends hours on now and learn!

Spidey2112, lostpoet2, Inara and 7 others like this.
  2. First of all, welcome to Talkbass! I hope you will like it here and enjoy playing your new instrument!

The SR800 from the 90's was built in Japan and is generally considered to be a great instrument, perhaps even some kind of benchmark regarding the SR series in general, together with the SR500. I quick search on this forum reveals that those two basses seems to be the most loved ones in the SR series. I have owned one myself and deeply regret selling it. The later models SR800 was made in Korea (someone please correct me here if I'm wrong). It should have a P/J pickup configuration (a split coil Precision style pickup in the neck position and a single coil jazz style pickup in the bridge position) with Ibanez own AFR pickups and a 3 band eq with knobs for master volume and pickup balance.

200 dollars with a hardcase is a steal if it's in good shape and plays nicely. You definitely made a good choice and got a good deal.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2017