1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New vs old bridge

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Bassalova, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Bassalova

Bassalova

Nov 16, 2008
    I have a Grunert 1978 gamba bass. I guess the bridge has got the same age as the bass. It is a littlebit warped towards the fingerboard. Though I have used a hot pan to soften the wood and the heavy kitchen table to bend it straight, it warps back to its "worn-out" shape after a while. So I'm considering a new bridge.

Would a new bridge sound better than an old one? Does an old bridge absorb vibrations because of the 30-year-old "dead"
    wood fibres? Will a new bridge sound fuller? Any ideas?

2. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    New Mexico. USA
    If that were the case, everyone would be getting rid of their old string instruments full of old "dead" wood fibers.

3. Cody Sisk

Cody Sisk

Jan 26, 2009
    Lilburn, GA
    Ronald Sachs Violins
    Just request the best bridge blank stock your luthier has on hand when you go for a new one. Also be sure to regularly check to see that the bridge is straight. The string tension pulls it towards the fingerboard over time and if left this way will eventually warp the bridge. A little thumb pressure can push it back down straight again. Also periodically loosen the strings one at a time and pull them out of the groove. Get a pencil and color in the groove where the strings sits. This will lubricate it and keep the string tension from pulling on it too much..

Keep this up and you'll be able to age your bridge nicely over many years..

4. the wood may have been "dead" for a 100yrs. before it was fashioned into a bridge...
    old is good,particulary when qualified with the word venerable ;)

5. Sounds like you need a new bridge. I wouldn't think bending the warping back is a long term solution.