1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Newbie bass player needs advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by crematia, Apr 21, 2006.

1. crematia

crematia

Apr 21, 2006
    Hello,
    new here since I'm actually a guitarist, but things seem to change :)
    Anyway, straight to business:
    well it finally happened, I got into a band.
    Only problemo is that I'm the freakin' bass player :D
    Now I would need some advice on basses and bass amps, since I really don't know jack about them. Here's a few I have in mind:
    Amps:
    Fender Rumble 100w
    Fender Rumble 100/210, 100w 2x10"
    Gallien Krueger Backline 115 II
    Behringer BXL1800A, 180w
    PEAVEY TNT115 S, 150w
    All I know that I wan't atleast 15" speaker on the amp. Where we play atm (actually it's recording studio) has this Behringer as bass amp, and I thought it sounded ok. But I need more POWER :)
    Basses:
    Yamaha RBX 375 BL
    OLP Tony Levin 5 String Sign. AN
    Warwick Rockbass Streamer LTD 5BK
    SPECTOR PERFORMER 5 DLX MBS
    ESP LTD B-155 STB
    Fender SQUIER Standard P-Bass Special
    Sorry about the loooong list, but I think you get the point about the price range I'm willing to spend.
    What I'm looking for in the bass is 5-strings, not too thick neck and easy to play. Alternatively I might buy a four stringer, but mainly looking for five stringer. I got a loaner bass at the moment and it's like a damn log with 4 strings attached to it :)
    So if you got any helpful info on what to avoid and what's good, please share :)
    Any information is greatly appreciated.
    PS. Sorry 'bout the smileys.
    Thanks,
    -P-

2. Welcome!

We're glad to have you here. Like most newbies to the board, you have a lot of questions -- and that's cool.