Newbie that needs amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kmaultsby, Sep 9, 2005.

1. kmaultsby

Dec 31, 2004
    I am just learning how to play the bass guitar, and I want to purchase amp to practice with and that I can grow into. I am using a Fender Jazz bass and I want to play all types of music from Hip-Hop, Jazz, Rock, and R&B. I have few questions.

1. What is sound difference between an all in one setup that has the Amp build in and with the amp separate?

2. What our the advantages and disadvantages?

3. What our the sound differences between single speaker like a single 8" 10" 12" and 15" speaker compare to a duel or four speaker setup?

4. And last base on what I am trying to do, what type amp or combination should I purchase? :)
  2. 1. Some combo amps sound very good. Some combo amps sound lousy. Separate head/cab setups can sound good or lousy as has more to do with the quality of the gear than any inherent design principle. Having said that , I'd say as a general principle, combos tend to be slightly lower in quality since many of them are marketed for intro-level players. There are exceptions of course--there are a few very high quality combos out there!! There's also a few crappy heads and cabs that could waste your money as well....

2. Advantages of combos:
    -easier and faster setup
    -can be better if there are storage or transportation issues
    -can be lower quality
    -can't upgrade just one component (like buying a better head for example)
    -less flexibility
    -some people are quick to dismiss combo players as beginners (believe it or not!)

3. In general, more speakers produce a fuller sound with less speaker farting (because high-powered bass is tough on speakers). Again there are exceptions, a well made single 12" cab could conceivably outperform a poorly made, poorly designed bigger cab such as a 4x10.