Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Nickel allergy from strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by carl-anton, Feb 12, 2004.

1. After playing nickel strings I've noticed my fingertips become black. It washes right off with soap and water and there are no rashes, but could I develop nickel allergy from playing nickel strings?

2. jdombrow

jdombrow Supporting Member

Jan 16, 2002
    Colorado Springs, CO
    What is nickel allergy? I've been playing bass for over 30 years, and I've never heard of anyone contracting any illnesses from their strings.

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Some people don't tolerate the skin contact with nickel alloys well, e.g. earrings etc.
    This can also happen with strings, but this only shows you already are allergic, I doubt strings can cause new allergies, but I'm not an expert.

Switching to stainless steels is the only remedy , I'm afraid.

4. I have the exact same problem but have has no ill effects from it. I also can't wear most types of silver and gold. I think it comes from the skin being more acidic and it is also some copper content in the alloys I react with so I don't wear any jewllery except my wedding band which is pure platinum. It may also mean that you might have to change strings more often or go with some of the coated ones (or stainless steel if it is truely pure).

5. Before I found out I'm alergic to nickel, I used to go home from gigs with swollen, blood-shot eyes. The smoke would irritate them and then I would end up rubbing them with my nickel coated fingers. Now I use stainless steel strings on my primary bass, and I'm careful about keeping my hands clean with my other instruments. The skin on my finger tips is too thick for the nickel to leach through.

6. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego